Holiday Update

Well, federal holidays count and there’s good reason to celebrate the life of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. today, so I thought I’d do a general update today.

With the start of the new year just behind us, I am conscious of my writing habits and goals. I am not a resolutions type of gal, but I do want to make some changes to my writing life and be more productive this 2017. If you’re looking for a good list of things to do without doing resolutions, check out this list here.

I do have some wonderful news. I am now a published author! Two of my stories were featured in the anthology, Tales from Our Write Side. This anthology features everything from stories in the vein of Lewis Carroll to dark tales of fantasy to a screenplay. It offers something for every type of reader and I recommend checking it out, especially my two stories. 🙂

As far as my WiP goes, it is at the editor’s for round two. He’s about halfway through edits and I eagerly await him finishing. I did some major revising after round one and have been told he’s pleased with how much the manuscript has grown since he’s last seen it. That doesn’t mean no more changes, it definitely still needs more work. I’d be shocked if it didn’t, but it’s good to know it’s nearing its final draft. I am attending a writer’s conference in March and will be pitching my WiP to four agents. I have started writing my blurb, but still have to perfect it as well as begin my synopsis. I will also need to do more research on each agent I will meet before I go. I’ve done some preliminary research to choose which ones I will pitch to, but I will do more. I will also demonstrate that I have done this research when I meet these agents. It’s important to do. And I will update you all on the conference once it happens.

In the meantime I am trying to work on the sequel to my WiP. I say trying because it hasn’t been flowing for me when I sit down to write my first draft. I do have some chapters done, but I think I need to revisit the planning, brainstorming, and outlining part. I did some of this, but I realize now it wasn’t enough. I just need to find the mental place to sit down and do so. My goal is to get it done sometime this month. It’s good to give myself working deadlines. That way I don’t panic, but I don’t procrastinate too much either.

I have a couple ideas for short stories I want to write for different anthologies that are forthcoming. And those are my projects that I’m working on now. I find short stories are harder to write than longer pieces, so send positive energies my way that I’ll finish them. What are you working on? What are your goals for 2017? Share below and happy writing!

Julia

Follow my column at Our Write Side and Twitter for more writing tips and inspiration. Find me on Facebook for weekly prompts.

Leave a Reply

