Update

It’s been a while since I’ve done an update and I’ve recently made progress so I’m dedicating today’s post to that. I’ve been working on my WiP for over a year now. After planning and prewriting, I managed to get my first draft done within four to six months and was very pleased with my progress. I was writing every day and being really productive. The words were flowing onto the page and I was pleased with the draft. Then it was time for revising and editing. I started out strong but quickly petered out. I was working hard on my revisions, but it didn’t feel like I was making any progress. Every scene still needed so much work done. Then I stopped working on it every day because I dreaded doing it. I took a long break in between sessions and it took twice as long as it needed to. I am excited to say that I finished editing last week. The next step was beta readers. I used Google Docs to share my manuscript with them. I decided to only use three beta readers. Happily one of them is already done going through my draft so I don’t anticipate a long wait for the rest to finish. I’ll go over their comments and make a few revisions and then the last step will be sending my manuscript back to my editor. It’s hard to believe I’m so close to a finished product.

After I have a finished manuscript, it’ll be time to craft a strong query letter, blurb, and synopsis. I’ve been collecting agent names and information for some time now and also bought the Writer’s Market to find even more agents to query. I am nervous about this phase, but know I’ll get through it because my dream depends on it and I’ve worked so hard.

I went on vacation last week and used my alone time to start working on my sequel to my WiP. I did my planning and prewriting, making a scene list using index cards to plot out the story. I also decided on at least one subplot to weave into the story and reflect a different aspect of my theme as every good subplot should. I still have a few things to figure out but I began writing the rough draft. Starting a new project is always exciting and I am enjoying the new start. I plan on using NaNoWriMo to write the bulk of my draft. Knowing that you only need to write 1667 words a day has made NaNo seem much more manageable to me and I hope you join me in the attempt.

And that’s where I am. I’ll keep working on the rough draft of my second WiP as I wait for my beta readers to finish. I’ll post more tips on writing again next week, so check back in and happy writing!

Julia

Follow my column at Our Write Side and Twitter for more writing tips and inspiration and find me on Facebook for weekly prompts.

Leave a Reply

